The Safety Committees work to ensure the physical safety of the Allenby community during arrival and departure each school day. Focus is placed on encouraging walking versus driving, ensuring that traffic rules around the school are adhered to and liaising about traffic issues and concerns with city councilors, Toronto Police Services and Toronto’s Transportation Services.

Safety Committees include:

  • Allenby Drop Zone
  • Safety Task Force

Director —  Andrea Spender

The Allenby Drop Zone

For students in grades 1 to 6, we encourage those parents who need to drive to use our Drop Zone. We have two different locations: Castlefield Ave. (for those travelling westbound) and St. Clements Ave. (for those travelling eastbound). The Drop Zone operates from 8:45 a.m. to 9:00 a.m. Please avoid stopping in the Drop Zone areas (between 8:30 a.m. to 9:30 a.m.) and avoid stopping in the Kindergarten and Bus Zones ANYTIME during the school day (as indicated on the posted signage). 

The Allenby Drop Zone is staffed by parents volunteers. We ask that everyone show respect and courtesy to our volunteers and ask for all parents to lend a hand when they can. Want to help out? Contact Julie Snyder for more information.

Safety Task Force

The Safety Task Force is responsible for identifying potential external safety issues that the Allenby community might encounter when arriving and departing school and developing and implementing solutions to combat these issues. The committee may also be responsible for advocating on behalf of the school community with regard to traffic safety around the school.

Safety Task Force Coordinator – Andrea Spender